Meet the candidates hoping to form the 2019 Conservative Parliamentary intake

This article was first published on 30th October, and is updated daily with the latest candidate selection news.

Even before the campaign formally began, we already knew that the forthcoming election would bring a remarkable amount of churn on the green benches. Not only are voters apparently more prone than ever before in modern times to switch party but a lot of MPs are choosing to stand down. So yesterday we saw seats such as Bracknell, where Dr Phillip Lee defected to the Liberal Democrats, and Orpington, where Jo Johnson stepped down, choosing new candidates.

In addition, of course, there are several who have lost the Whip and who have not had it returned, meaning they will be ineligible to be reselected. Just last night, for example, South West Hertfordshire selected their replacement for David Gauke.

It’s therefore a good moment to provide a snapshot of the people hoping to become newly-minted Conservative MPs. Below I’m keeping a list of all those candidates who have been selected in Tory-held seats, those who have been selected in target seats, and the Tory-held seats which are being vacated but are yet to select new candidates. Where we know them, I’ve added the selection dates, and linked to our run-down of the shortlisted candidates and their bios. Unfortunately, it’s the Conservative Party’s current practice to keep the names of shortlisted candidates secret even from the Party members who will select them until very shortly before they must make their decision – in the interests of transparency, accountability and democracy, ConservativeHome seeks to publish as many shortlists in advance as possible.

There are almost certainly other target seats out there, including some that haven’t yet selected, and other Conservative MPs may yet announce their retirement from the Commons, but so far this is our most complete list of the candidates who hope to form the core of the 2019 intake, and the seats which will shortly select others to join their number.

Candidates in Tory-held seats 

Aberconwy: Robin Millar

Aberdeen South: Douglas Lumsden

Aylesbury: Rob Butler

Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock: Martin Dowey

Beaconsfield: Joy Morrissey NEW

Bosworth: Dr Luke Evans

Bracknell: James Sunderland

Broadland: Jerome Mayhew

Broxtowe: Darren Henry

Buckingham: Greg Smith

Cities of London and Westminster: Nickie Aiken

Derbyshire Dales: Sarah Dines

Devizes: Danny Kruger

Dover and Deal: Natalie Elphicke

Eastleigh: Paul Holmes

East Devon: Simon Jupp

East Surrey: Claire Coutinho

Eddisbury: Edward Timpson

Grantham and Stamford: Gareth Davies

Guildford: Angela Richardson

Hastings and Rye: Sally Ann Hart

Hertford and Stortford: Julie Marson

Loughborough: Jane Hunt

Meriden: Saqib Bhatti

Mid Sussex: Mims Davies

Milton Keynes North: Ben Everitt

Montgomeryshire: Craig Williams

Newbury: Laura Farris NEW

North East Bedfordshire: Richard Fuller

Orpington: Gareth Bacon

Putney: Will Sweet

Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner: David Simmonds

Rushcliffe: Ruth Edwards

Rutland and Melton: Alicia Kearns

Sevenoaks: Laura Trott (no, not the cyclist) NEW PICTURED

South Cambridgeshire: Anthony Browne

South Ribble: Katherine Fletcher

South West Hertfordshire: Gagan Mohindra

Stafford: Theo Clarke

Stourbridge: Suzanne Webb

Totnes: Anthony Mangnall

Truro and Falmouth: Cherilyn Mackrory

Watford: Dean Russell

West Dorset: Chris Loder

Candidates in target seats 

Alyn and Deeside: Sanjoy Sen

Barrow and Furness: Simon Fell

Bassetlaw: Brendan Clarke-Smith

Bedford: Ryan Henson

Birmingham Northfield: Gary Sambrook

Bishop Auckland: Dehenna Davison

Blackpool South: Scott Benton

Bridgend: Dr. Jamie Wallis

Bristol North West: Mark Weston

Bury North: James Daly

Bury South: Christian Wakeford

Canterbury: Anna Firth

Cardiff North: Mohamed Y. Ali

Colne Valley: Jason McCartney

Crewe and Nantwich: Kieran Mullan

Croydon Central: Mario Creatura

Darlington: Peter Gibson

Delyn: Rob Roberts

Derby North: Amanda Solloway

Dudley North: Marco Longhi

Eastbourne: Caroline Ansell

Enfield Southgate: David Burrowes

Gower: Francesca O’Brien

High Peak: Robert Largan

Ipswich: Tom Hunt

Keighley: Robbie Moore

Kensington: Felicity Buchan

Kingston and Surbiton: Aphra Brandreth

Lincoln: Karl McCartney

Oxford West and Abingdon: James Fredrickson

Newcastle-under-Lyme: Aaron Bell

Penistone and Stocksbridge: Miriam Cates

Peterborough: Paul Bristow

Plymouth Sutton and Devonport: Rebecca Smith

Portsmouth South: Donna Jones

Reading East: Craig Morley

Stockton South: Matt Vickers

Stoke North: Jonathan Gullis

Stoke Central: Jo Gideon

Stroud: Siobhan Baillie

Vale of Clwyd: Dr James Davies

Wakefield: Imran Khan

Warrington South: Andy Carter

Warwick and Leamington: Jack Rankin

Weaver Vale: Adam Wordsworth

West Bromwich West: Shaun Bailey (No, not that Shaun Bailey)

Wolverhampton South West: Stuart Anderson

Wrexham: Sarah Atherton


Vacant Tory-held seats yet to select candidates 

Arundel and South Downs (due to select on 11th November – shortlist here)

Meon Valley (due to select on 11th November)

North Devon (due to select on 11th November – shortlist here)

Penrith and the Borders (selection process stalled)

Runnymede and Weybridge (due to select on 11th November)

Wantage (due to select on 11th November – shortlist here)

– – –

As ever, our coverage relies on a large number of people who choose to share insights and tips about the process in the interests of transparency and internal party democracy. Thank you to all those who have contributed so far – if you know the composition of a shortlist, or the name of a successful candidate, please let us know here. We always respect our sources’ right to anonymity.

Visit the USSA News store!
Click this link for the original source of this article.
Author: Mark Wallace

This content is courtesy of, and owned and copyrighted by, and its author. This content is made available by use of the public RSS feed offered by the host site and is used for educational purposes only. If you are the author or represent the host site and would like this content removed now and in the future, please contact the administrator by using the contact form located in the top-left menu. Your request will be immediately honored. Please visit for more terrific, conservative content. The owner of this website may be paid to recommend American Bullion. The content of this website, including the positive review of American Bullion, the negative review of its competitors, and any other information may not be independent or neutral.